West Indies names World Cup squad - EntornoInteligente

Entornointeligente.com / RJR News / The West Indies 15 man squad for Cricket World Cup 2015 has been announced, and there are two significant names missing – Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard.

The squad reads: Jason Holder (Captain), Marlon Samuels (Vice Captain), Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Jonathan Carter, Sheldon Cotterell, Christopher Gayle, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Jerome Taylor.

Reports had recently emerged that Bravo (captain of the one day international team until very recently) and Pollard had not been selected for the World Cup, to be played in New Zealand and Australia.

There had been no comment on those reporters by either the West Indies Cricket Board or the Selection Committee, and Saturday’s announcement, steered clear of the issue as well.

Clive Lloyd, Chairman of the selection panel, said he had high hopes for the squad, which he said, was a mix of experienced players and some fresh faces.

“I believe we have selected a very good team which will do West Indies proud at the World Cup,” he declared.

The Cricket World Cup starts on February 14, with the West Indians playing their first match on February 16 against Ireland.

West Indies CWC Pool B Schedule

February 16: West Indies v Ireland at Nelson

February 21: West Indies v Pakistan at Christchurch

February 24: West Indies v Zimbabwe at Canberra

February 27: West Indies v South Africa at Sydney

March 6:      West Indies v Inia at Perth

March 15:     West Indies v UAE at Napier



Con Información de RJR News


Follow Me