Port chairman quits, remains tight-lipped - EntornoInteligente

Entornointeligente.com / The Trinidad Guardian / Former Port Authority (Patt) chairman Allison Lewis is tight-lipped about her resignation from the Board of Commissioners yesterday. When contacted, Lewis said she had no comment to make, even before being asked a question.

During a tour of the Solomon Hochoy Highway Extension to Point Fortin yesterday, Works and Transport Minister Rohan Sinanan said he had heard of Lewis’ resignation but had not yet seen the letter. Sinanan said he plans to ask her to reconsider.

“Well, I have heard of the resignation. What I can say is that it is unfortunate if that happens, I will do whatever I can to try to convince Ms Lewis to rethink her position. However, if she doesn’t, I would like to thank her for her service. Ms Lewis has been a great asset to this country, not only as chairman of the Port but in her capacity as Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Finance. I have full respect for her, I think she has served this country well and I really do hope that she will continue to serve this country,” Sinanan said.

Lewis, 63, a Public Service Medal of Merit (Gold) awardee, also served as a governor of the Heritage and Stabilisation Fund, director at the Central Bank, and now a director at Trinidad Cement Ltd.

It was rumoured that her resignation came after the Patt Board agreed that the contract for the Cabo Star not be renewed when it expires in a month’s time. However, someone at the Ministry of Finance has insisted on a renewal.

A source close to Finance Minister Colm Imbert said yesterday that the Patt does not report to the Imbert neither does he have anything to do with Lewis’ resignation.

In March 2017, the former Patt chairman Christine Sahadeo resigned from the Board, and this was followed by Cabinet’s firing of the remaining commissioners, inclusive of the deputy chairman Michael Patterson, Radha Permanand, Glen Wilson, Ken Wright, Melissa Alexis James, and Ferdie Ferreira.

Back then, Ferreira told the T&T Guardian that board members were constructively dismissed by Cabinet one day after Sahadeo tendered her resignation. His claim was denied by Sinanan, who insisted yesterday that the board members resigned and “we accepted the resignations.”

Within days, the incumbent Board of Adrian Beharry, Brandon Primus, Suzette Baptiste, Dexter Jaggernauth, and Tommy Elias was appointed.


Port chairman quits, remains tight-lipped

Con Información de The Trinidad Guardian


Síguenos en Twitter @entornoi


Add comment

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

Follow Me