JCA names Regional U-15 cricket squad - EntornoInteligente

Entornointeligente.com / Jamaica Observer / THE Jamaica Cricket Association (JCA) on Friday presented the national Under-15 squad selected to represent the country in the 2018 West Indies Regional Under-15 tournament, to be held in Jamaica from March 26 to April 4. Head Coach Phillip Service said the squad, to be captained by Manchester High’s Sanjay Walker, is much better than it was last year, noting it is stronger all-round, with good depth in the batting and bowling departments.

“I expect Jamaica to be very competitive throughout the tournament and also have a very good chance of coming out champions. I am also looking for some good performances from the players,” Service said during the presentation ceremony held at Sabina Park.

“They have the talent and it depends on whether they will perform from what they have learnt, as this is also a development process for the players. I just want them to play good cricket with the talent they have,” added Service.

He noted that Walker and Jordan Johnson are the only players returning from last year’s squad.

Oneil Cruickshank, cricket operations manager at the JCA, asked the parents not to interfere with the players during the tournament, as they need space to concentrate on the game.

“We are not disrespecting you, the parents, but the players should not be distracted. If you want to talk to them, you will have to get confirmation from the manager or coach,” Cruickshank said.

Six Caribbean countries are to participate in the tournament, with Barbados as defending champions. The other teams are Trinidad and Tobago, Guyana, Leeward Islands, Windward Islands, and hosts Jamaica.

Jamaica’s first match is against the Leeward Islands on Wednesday, March 28 at Up Park Camp.

Barbados will also be in action when they take on Trinidad and Tobago at Melbourne Oval, while Guyana will be up against the Windward Islands at Kensington Park.

Squad : Sanjay Walker (Manchester High); Justin Walters (Clarendon College); Marlon Powell (Munro College); Gavaska Edmons, Koby Lewis (St Elizabeth Technical); Jordan Johnson, Justin Beckford, Alex Hinds, Corey Hinds (Wolmer’s Boys’); Adrian Weir (Vere Technical); Javon Nembhard (St Mary Technical); Demarco Butler (St Andrew Technical); Sherwin Thomas (Garvey Maceo High); and Ricardo Cox (Dinthill Technical).

Reserves : Matthew Moran (Manchester High); Odel Samuels (St Elizabeth Technical); Brian Cole (Old Harbour High); and Michael Clarke (Excelsior High).

— Gerald Reid

JCA names Regional U-15 cricket squad

Con Información de Jamaica Observer


Síguenos en Twitter @entornoi


Add comment

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *

Follow Me